WPPA 2018 Executive Committee

President – Troy Stariha, Port of Kalama

Troy Stariha has served as a Commissioner for the Port of Kalama since 2010. He also is currently serving as Chair for the Executive Committee for the Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Council of Governments. A long-time Kalama resident, he graduated from Kalama High School in 1989. Troy has worked at Kalama Auto Supply and Repair for 27 years and he purchased the business in 2003. Being a small business owner within his community helps him to understand the area’s desires and future needs on a personal level. His focus on economic development helps the port successfully create a balance of quality of life and family-wage jobs in the region. The Port of Kalama is an integral part of their community and Troy is proud to serve as a commissioner. Troy is the father of three boys and he has one grandchild. Much of his free time is spent attending his sons’ sporting events as well as coaching football, basketball, and baseball teams. Other hobbies include playing golf, watching NASCAR and attending community events.


Vice President – Don Meyer, Port of Tacoma

Don Meyer is the former Executive Director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and a former Deputy Executive Director of the Port of Tacoma. He joined the Commission in 2010.  Meyer currently serves as Co-Chair of the Regional Access Mobility Partnership (RAMP), and also is on the Pierce County Regional Council, Washington Public Ports Association Executive Committee, South King County Transportation Board, Tall Ships Planning Committee, University of Washington Tacoma’s Urban Studies Advisory Board and Tacoma Waterfront Association. He is also a member of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce, the Fife / Milton / Edgewood Area Chamber of Commerce and the Transportation Club of Tacoma.  He recently served on former Gov. Christine Gregoire’s Connecting Washington Task Force on transportation issues, is a member of Tacoma Rotary #8 and owns a small business in Pierce County.  Born and raised on a South Dakota farm, Meyer holds a bachelor’s degree in business from Pacific Lutheran University and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of South Dakota.

Treasurer – Jim Pivarnik, Port of Kingston

Info to come!

Secretary – Jean Ryckman, Port of Pasco

Jean Ryckman has served as a Commissioner for the Port of Pasco since her appointment in   2012 and subsequent election in 2013.  She currently serves as Commission president.  She also serves as a Commissioner on the State Commission on Judicial Conduct, as a board member for Tri-City Development Council (TRIDEC), as a member of Pasco School District Budget Committee and Franklin PUD Rate Advisory Committee. She is the former manager of Franklin PUD, having retired in 2009 from a 28-year career with that agency. Ms. Ryckman is past-president of the Pasco School Board, past-chair of Northwest River Partners, served on the Washington State School Directors Legislative Committee and their Federal Relations Network, Pasco Chamber of Commerce Board, Tri-Cities Visitor and Convention Bureau Board, United Way Board, Downtown Pasco Development Authority Board and with numerous other community service organizations. Because of her service to community, she received the William T. Elmgren Award for Outstanding Community Service, Washington PUD Association’s Spirit of Public Power Award, and was inducted into the Pasco High School 2010 Hall of Fame. She graduated with highest honors from Columbia Basin College with an AS Degree in Engineering Technology and was named alumna of the year in 2002.

Jean has 2 adult sons, six grandchildren, four “adopted” grandchildren, and two great grandchildren (but she thinks they are all great).  When she isn’t actively advocating for her community or playing with grandchildren, Jean enjoys national and international travel by air, sea and land.


Past President (2016) – Roy Keck, Port of Benton

Roy Keck was elected to the Port of Benton Board of Commission in 2007 and was the president of the board for 2011 and 2012.  Roy is a native of Richland and attended Columbia Basin College, Washington State University and is a Leadership Tri-Cities graduate.  He is a retired Project Manager from Energy Northwest after 35 years in the nuclear power plant industry.  Roy and his wife, Becky, have four adult children and six grandchildren, all residing in the Tri-Cities along with his parents.  Roy is a community-minded public servant and an active member of TRIDEC, the Richland Rotary, Richland Utility Advisory Committee, Richland Economic Development Committee, Tri-Cities Regional Chamber of Commerce and Richland Yacht Club.  Roy is an avid gearhead (car, boat, motorcycle guy) and founder of the twenty-year-old Tri-Cities Cool Desert Night car show event.  After his retirement, he and his son built and operate a custom hot rod fabrication shop with an adjacent commercial property at the Richland Airport.  Roy looks forward to the opportunities to advocate for future regional investment in energy research and its related infrastructure and jobs.

Past President (2015) – Karen Moore, Port of Ephrata

Karen Moore has served as commissioner for Ephrata’s Grant County Port District #9 since 2004.  She is a lifelong resident of Ephrata and received a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Washington State University in 1978.  Karen partners with her husband Mike, in his retail furniture business.  They have three grown children; their sons, Matt and Nick are the fifth generations in a 106-year family legacy to work at Moore Furniture. Her daughter Susan, husband and son live in Bellingham. Their three kids have given them six amazing grandchildren, just ask her!  Karen is the founding treasurer, and past president of FRIENDS OF ZANIKA, a 501(c)3 charity, in support of quality outdoor education for children.  Together with her friends from her camp counselor days, these ongoing charitable efforts have made significant capital improvements to Camp Zanika Lache on Lake Wenatchee.   Karen is a past WA State Parks boating safety instructor and certified diver.  Week-long trips canoeing the Snake and Columbia rivers in her youth have transformed into powerboating on Lake Chelan most summer days.  She is past president of her local parish and parochial school boards.  Her leadership experience also includes advisor to the Ephrata High School vocational curriculum department, emergency substitute teacher, aid to special needs students, volunteer librarian, and music director for her college sorority, Alpha Omicron Pi.   Karen enjoys life in small-town Eastern Washington with a passion for international travel and the outdoors to keep a global perspective.  Karen is committed to economic development at the Port of Ephrata, and to giving other young Ephrata College graduates the opportunity to return home to prosper.  Since 2004 she has been part of infrastructure development at the Port of Ephrata, including new road construction to improve highway access, the addition of a new power substation, resurfacing runways, the creation of a designated glider runway, and ongoing preservation of WWII Army surplus aviation facilities.  Home to the Seattle Glider club and host to airplane acrobatic competitions, Ephrata and Karen’s back porch are a great place to enjoy watching both. She is an advocate of partnering with community and governmental agencies and believes in the way WPPA unifies the diverse needs of our vast state of Washington. She is honored to be a part of Washington Ports past and future.


Past Officers

Contact Form Powered By :