Port of Longview Commissioner Resigns

Appointment process to begin in June

Longview, WA– Commission Vice President Lou Johnson announced at today’s Commission meeting that he would be resigning from the Board of Commissioners effective June 30th.  Johnson began serving his elected term as District 2 Commissioner in 2012.

“It has been a privilege to serve my community and I wish to thank my fellow Commissioners and the staff for the opportunity,” Commissioner Johnson stated, citing the need for time with his family and personal commitments as his reason for stepping down.

“Lou has made important contributions to the Port during his tenure,” said Port of Longview Chief Executive Officer Geir Kalhagen. “We are grateful for his service and the dedication he brought to the Commission.”

“Commissioner Johnson has been an excellent representative of the Port’s mission,” said Commission President Bob Bagaason on Johnson’s involvement in the Pacific Northwest Waterways Association and local Council of Governments. “I wish him and his family the best in the years to come.”

Port officials will review the process for filling Commissioner Johnson’s seat at the upcoming June 9th regular Commission Meeting. The Port Commission must appoint a replacement to fulfill the remainder of Johnson’s term, which expires in 2017.

The Board of Commissioners is comprised of three elected members representing the citizens of the Port district. Commissioners serve six-year terms and set governing policy for the Port of Longview.


Dan Polacek,
(360) 425-3305

Contact Form Powered By : XYZScripts.com